Skip to content ↓

EYFS Curriculum

We follow the revised EYFS Framework that became statutory on 1st September 2021.

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets the statutory standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old. The Development Matters non statutory document is used to support assessment, tracking and planning children's next steps. 

You can read the latest EYFS handbook and frameworks by clicking on the links below: 

Statutory guidance Early years foundation stage (EYFS) statutory framework

Development Matters Non-statutory curriculum guidance for the early years foundation stage.

The curriculum is based on the Characteristics of Effective Teaching and Learning and is divided into three Prime Areas and four Specific Areas.

Prime Areas

- Communication and Language

- Personal, Social and Emotional Development 

- Physical Development 

Specific Areas 

- Literacy

- Maths

- Understanding the World

- Expressive Arts and Design 

The Characteristics of Effective Learning and the Prime and Specific Areas of Learning are all interconnected.  The document recognises that all children develop at their own rates, and in their own ways.  

Development Matters sets out the pathways of children's development in broad ages and stages: 

- Birth to three - babies, toddlers and young children

- 3 & 4 year olds 

- Reception aged children 

There are observation checkpoints within these stages that can help to identify any child at risk of falling behind in their development.